Thread: Considerations when building a rendering system

Default Considerations when building a rendering system

Let me start by saying I am not a computer graphics professional. I am an IT systems professional who supports the students and faculty in computer graphics design programs. Our programs include architecture, computer animation, industrial design, interior design, and a few others. I currently maintain a few computer labs both Mac and PC and support many applications including the Autodesk and Solidworks products.

The challenges of rendering that I am trying to address are:

1. We do not have the budget to equip every computer lab machine with the high end hardware required for complex rendering. While we do purchase some, it is hard to ensure they are utilized properly and available to the right users. For instance I may only be able to equip 5 out of 20 computers in a lab with high end workstation graphics cards, and when I do they are often tied up by users who don't require the extra horsepower. I do not have or do not want to have to control access to seats in the lab based on application needs.

2. We can not allow users to begin a render and then leave the machine unattended. We also do not want a single person tying up multiple machines for a single project.

To try and solve these problems, I would like to build a dedicated rendering server. However, not being intimately familiar with the rendering process, I have many questions that I need answered in order to build the best machine I can.

Now that rendering is able to be offloaded to GPU via CUDA, how important is the main system CPU and RAM vs GPU and video RAM? Does the rendering process use both equality intensively? Is high video ram important for rendering still frames, or only animations?