PDA

View Full Version : Mentalray Standalone and lightlinking

sus_gr8
May 4th, 2009, 11:47
Hi

I am new to standalone . I am facing a bit of a problem regarding lightlinking..

I have an generic file in maya which contains two spheres ... one of the sphere is linked by default to a directional light , and the other sphere is delinked form this light ...

when I export the scene to an mi file and render it in standalone .. It gives me a error about lightlinking and renders the scene ignoring the light linking ...

How do i save the linking info in the mi file ?

Does mentalray standalone support maya light linking .. ?

Plz help me out .

******************************* EDITED **********************************

I figured out the problem and found the solution ... but It has resulted to a new problem :(

My standalone version in for maya 2009 and the mi file was generated in maya 8.5

so I did some rnd ... lol

I exported the same file in maya 8.5 and in maya 2009 in ascii and compared both the files in wordpad..

The coding for the mayatomr exporter in 2009 is way different than that for 8.5

lighlinking in mi file from maya 8.5 is written as

incremental shader "lightLinker1"
"maya_lightlink" (
"ignoreLinks" [
"directionalLight1",
"pCube1",
""
]
)

and in 2009 is written as

instance "pCube1" "pCubeShape1"
light "exclusive" ["directionalLight1"]
material ["initialShadingGroup"]
caustic on
caustic 3
globillum on
globillum 3
transform
0.694343 -0. 0. -0.
-0. 0.694343 -0. 0.
0. -0. 0.694343 -0.
-2.17934 -0.46993 -0. 1.
end instance

So as you see the whole coding is different ...

Now my problem is .. is there a way to render a maya 8.5 file in mentalray standalone for maya 2009 ?

steve
May 5th, 2009, 20:22
Normally,