Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Displacement with Iray and MDL

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Lightbulb Displacement with Iray and MDL

    Hi,

    here is a short step-by-step example how to add displacement to other existing materials, like those from the vMaterials catalog.

    In order to follow the workflow shown in the screencast below, you would need to take the MDL file attached to this post and put it into your local MDL folder at ~/Documents/mdl/, or any subfolder there.

    In order to get Iray displacement to work, you need
    1. a MDL material that supports displacement (example attached), and
    2. an object that carries the Iray Object Tag with "max" displacement set greater than zero


    The quality of the displacement depends on the tessellation detail of the surface geometry. For parametric surfaces it is typically determined by the "segments" settings. For meshes, further triangulation and subdivision will increase the displacement detail.

    http://screencast.com/t/tdDffiHAQK

    Let me know if it works for you.

    Best, Steffen
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    It is possible to use Cinema procedurals to drive displacement as well, see below. Here I have used the cyclone effect.

    Attachment 7203
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Iray for Cinema 4D - Displacement Cyclone.jpg  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by onlythumper View Post
    I'm also noticing that the displacement overrides the bump channel for the base material...
    Should work together with bump just fine, see below. It uses a "leather" material with a coarse displacement added.

    Attachment 7263
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails displace_and_bump copy.jpg  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    23

    Question

    Hi there !

    Thanks So much for Your Code SAMPLE !


    CAN WE HAVE A MDL CODE SAMPLE FOR VECTOR DISPLACEMENT PLEASE !

    Its a Reaaly Important Feature !

    THANK YOU For your Time !


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi to everyone, I try to follow how you showed but nothing happens. I attach screen. Why? thank you.

    Roberto

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen.PNG 
Views:	34 
Size:	380.3 KB 
ID:	9866

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Check the "segments" / tessellation settings of the "piano" plane. Should be in the hundreds of segments or faces for good displacement detail.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you very much Steve.
    Best regards
    Roberto

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •