Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: MR satellite cannot render Color Managed scene...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy MR satellite cannot render Color Managed scene...

    I went on and on about this at the Maya forums. I never though to come over here.

    So, is there a way to use MR Satellite and the new Color Management feature in Maya? I get wrong render tiles from the slave machines (errors as well). I can include those errors if necessary, but I'll have to re-produce it. This happened on a job months ago and still bothers me...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    What version of Maya? We were just talking about this issue and how to proceed with issues of ensuring the distributed servers have the correct Maya dlls.

    I assume that you are using syncolor and it depends on opencolorio and you need to be able to load the appropriate modules for both on the satellites?
    Barton Gawboy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    3

    Default

    This problem occurred using 2016 SP5 (and SP6, I think).

    The errors referred to syncolor, from what I remember. I'm just pushing buttons for the most part. I know a little about dll's and I think I even tried copying certain files to the satellite computers, but no luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    Ahh, so you did see syncolor errors.

    This dll changes frequently, so we really need to communicate a process that helps us track that the syncolor version copied matches what is expected on the satellites.
    It also depends on the opencolorio dll, as far as I understand, so the two have to be matched as well.

    We need to develop a comprehensive approach for this, which may include scripts and documentation.
    Barton Gawboy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hello. I've also had problems w/ using Mental Ray over our network. Here's an example of my problem:

    colorIssues01.jpg

    I'm using Maya 16 Ext 2, and have the appropriate version of MR Satellite on both of my render farm servers. Is there an update to Satellite that will fix this, or something else I can do? My current work around is to run each texture through gamma correction node set at .455 .455 .455 ONLY when rendering using the farm. This isn't a great solution for me.

    Thanks,
    JB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    Are you seeing messages reported about missing syncolor on the satellites?
    Barton Gawboy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Thanks for the quick response, and yes, I get a whole list of them like this. I'm not familiar with what this means.

    SHDR 1.16 117 MB error: ColorTransformCache::initTransform: The requested SynColor transform id is not in the cache: NativeInputTpl_Raw_scenelinearRec709sRGB_FORWARD
    SHDR 1.23 117 MB error: ColorTransformCache::initTransform: The requested SynColor transform id is not in the cache: NativeInputTpl_sRGB_scenelinearRec709sRGB_FORWARD
    SHDR 1.7 117 MB error: ColorTransformCache::initTransform: The requested SynColor transform id is not in the cache: NativeInputTpl_Raw_scenelinearRec709sRGB_FORWARD
    and so on....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    We know of some issues that we are trying to resolve, but this looks a bit different. Could we have this scene the way you have set it up? Also, the Color Management may have information stored in your preferences. So we'd need to double check that, if we can't reproduce.
    Barton Gawboy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Sure thing. This error is from a different scene than the example image I posted above, but the errors look the same. I'll share the scene from the example above because it is much less complicated.

    MRLighting1.mb.zip

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    Thank you very much for the scene. So it appears that the transform needed is not communicated in the mental ray data to the satellites. This does seem similar to an issue we were tracking down previously. It is not written to an mi file either if one exports it.
    Barton Gawboy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •