Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ID Render like vray

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    49

    Default ID Render like vray

    Is it possible to make an ID render like in vray?
    It renders out each material in the scene in a different RGB color.
    In Photoshop it is really easy then to select object with a certain material.

    I attached an example.
    making-gh-house-ivo-sucur-exterior_wireframe_id.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    We do have a matte objects render which gives you a matte per object with a single click using mila materials. The framebuffer writing is very flexible. When that click happens you can see that there are flexible shaders attached to the mila_materials. They are white for first implementation of this.

    You can also group objects together in material groups, and then the mattes can be grouped together.

    There is also a label/tag pass which is like an ID pass giving out automatic numbers. But that is not quite as flexible as anti-aliased edges are not clearly defined well. That is why we offer the matte pass options.

    Are you also interested in the CryptoMatte tech for doing this sort of thing?
    http://www.jonahfriedman.com/wp-cont...tes_poster.pdf
    There is also a proposed extension to OpenEXR
    http://www.onanimationstudios.com/wp.../openexrid.pdf

    and all the options were discussed at SIGGRAPN 2016 in an effort to go toward a standard
    http://s2016.siggraph.org/birds-feat...dios-solutions


    Which compositing package are you bringing this into?
    Barton Gawboy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    49

    Default

    Hi Bart,

    Tnx for your answer.

    I used the Mila matte options. It works really good.
    The problem is that in our scenes we have a lot of materials (sometimes hundreds). You get a massive amount of matte images from which we maybe need 5%. So combining them into 1 image would be much more efficient.

    The CryptoMatte ans OpenExr look really interesting.

    We use Photoshop for our still images and After Effect for the animation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Marina Del Rey, California
    Posts
    4,143

    Default

    Cryptomatte is a technique to make it one image and still get the edge antialiasing working fairly well. It should be good on materials overlapped up to a depth of 7 or so in a single pixel.

    When we use Material Sets, we group all into a single pass. You could then choose red, green, or blue colors, differentiating three types of object mattes in the same pass with good anti-aliased edges, since the matte stays per-channel.

    That is not automatic but doable with the given options writing to framebuffers from mila_materials.

    Are you clear on how the Material Sets work? We still need to complete the documentation on it. So well understandable if you don't.

    Instead of matte per object, you can group matte per material set, up to some number, 4 or 5 currently I think. You name the material set a specific name so that much happens automatically.

    See the buttons Create Matte Pass Material Set, or Edit Matte Pass Material Sets. The Create button creates a new Material set with the proper name for the matte pass material sets to work.

    This goes to the Set dialog where you can choose which materials go into which set. I typically set the panel on the right to show materials only.
    Barton Gawboy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    682

    Default

    Is there any plans to support CryptoMatte in mentalray?
    Pavel Ledin

  6. #6

    Default

    Looks like a variation of deep EXRs (limit number of samples, add object name table), should not be too difficult to add. I guess it will take very
    long until it is part of the OpenEXR specification.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bart View Post
    Are you clear on how the Material Sets work? We still need to complete the documentation on it. So well understandable if you don't
    Are those material sets working on maya 2016.5?.
    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •