Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Now Available: Mental Ray for Maya 2018

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Exclamation Now Available: Mental Ray for Maya 2018

    Hi all,

    we have just released on update of the Mental Ray for Maya plugin that now also supports Maya 2018.

    Update: we published another update in the meantime to fix issues with installation on systems with latest NVIDIA drivers.

    For the existing Mental Ray plugins in Maya 2017 and earlier, you should get a notification from the Professional Application Center (PAC) tool in the taskbar (if it runs). You can update your version semi-automatically through the PAC.

    For the Mental Ray for Maya 2018 plugin versions, we provide the download locations here. Your existing licenses should continue to work with this version.

    Release Notes
    NVIDIA_mental_ray_for_Maya_1.2_Release_Notes.pdf

    Maya Plugin
    Linux
    mentalray-for-Maya-2018-1.2-linux-x86-64-gcc4-mr3.14.5.1.run
    macOS
    mentalray-for-Maya-2018-1.2-macosx-x86-64-clang-mr3.14.5.1.pkg
    Windows
    mentalray-for-Maya-2018-1.2-nt-x86-64-vc14-mr3.14.5.1.exe

    Mental Ray Standalone
    Linux
    mentalray-standalone-for-Maya-2018-1.2-linux-x86-64-gcc4-mr3.14.5.1.run
    macOS
    mentalray-standalone-for-Maya-2018-1.2-macosx-x86-64-clang-mr3.14.5.1.pkg
    Windows
    mentalray-standalone-for-Maya-2018-1.2-nt-x86-64-vc14-mr3.14.5.1.exe

    We are looking forward to your feedback!

    Happy rendering

    Best,
    the Mental Ray for Maya team
    Steffen
    Last edited by steve; July 25th, 2018 at 13:48. Reason: add update link

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Does mental ray for maya include Iray now like in 3dmax?

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Donburroni View Post
    Does mental ray for maya include Iray now like in 3dmax?
    This would be great. Why not?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ytsejam View Post
    This would be great. Why not?
    Because it exists, as a separate product called Iray for Maya.
    It's actually been available for few years now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Yes, but it's not offered with the Mental-ray subscription like with the Max version, isn't it ? I think this is what meant ytsejam and
    Donburroni when they asked.

    I would like to know too

  6. #6

    Default

    Thank you Steve for your time.

    Yes FeD, that was what i meant
    Last edited by ytsejam; October 9th, 2017 at 10:56. Reason: English error

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hey

    What are the benefits of adding iray to mental ray on maya? Is it with the materials? Or better performance? I don't use max so I can't tell.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mafioo View Post
    What are the benefits of adding iray to mental ray on maya?
    There is no real technical benefit (rather the opposite) except perhaps built-in legacy shader and light support.

    In past 3ds Max, you got the Autodesk-delivered mental ray with iray included as a single plugin, thus using a single license.
    With the new NVIDIA Mental Ray and Iray+ plugins, we made a similarly attractive offer: both plugins can be used with the same single license.

    That option never existed on the Maya side, but the new Iray plugin started as a completely new and separate product.
    You do have a 90-day trial period to try Iray next to Mental Ray without a license but with all features enabled.
    If you feel you need more time for the transition to Iray we can certainly make an arrangement, just contact us.

    Best,
    Steffen

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    4

    Default Which Nvidia GPUs enable GI Next acceleration?

    Hello, I'm a bit confused. Will any of the Volta generation enable acceleration, or just the Quandro (pro) GPUs from nvidia?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralph7d7 View Post
    Hello, I'm a bit confused. Will any of the Volta generation enable acceleration, or just the Quandro (pro) GPUs from nvidia?
    The "GI Next" acceleration will run on any GPU that is supported by CUDA, including newer GPU generations than the one it was developed on.
    So yes, it will perfectly work with Volta generation cards. It may not take advantage of Volta-specific features, though.

    Generally, GPUs are forward compatible when using APIs/SDKs like OpenGL or CUDA or OptiX.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •