Thread: Live Render Viewport Problem

Default Live Render Viewport Problem

Hi all,

I've recently downloaded the trial version of Iray 1.4 for Rhino, and I'm unable to get the live rendered viewport working.

My understanding is that it should become active by clicking on the name tag on the top left of the viewport to access the drop down menu, then selecting "Iray". However, when I do this the viewport continues to display an image of whatever it was displaying prior to switching to Iray.

I can see the iterations count rising in the settings menu if I attempt look around in the viewport, and if I close the Rhino session the live render appears in the viewport briefly before Rhino exits.

After some research I'm at a loss as to why this is happening, I'm completely new to Iray so there's probably a fair chance it's something simple. Im using and up to date version of Rhino 5, and the latest release of Iray 1.4

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Leonine,

I am sorry to hear that you are facing problems. In fact activating Iray rendering in the viewport is as easy as selecting it from the dropdown menu in the top left of the viewport.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	activating_iray_viewportrendering_rhino.png 
Views:	25 
Size:	123.5 KB 
ID:	9884

In case that you are facing problems, you might want to check whether you have installed the latest drivers for your GPU. In many cases a driver update elimites such hiccups.

Does this problem occur also when you start a new empty scene and you launch viewport rendering?

Best Regards,
    RĂ¼diger

I found the Iray behaving the same way as the initial post is describing.