Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Mental ray 2018 loading error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default Mental ray 2018 loading error

    I posted this to the Maya forums and I was told to come here.
    I was trying to load the mental ray plugin into Maya when I got this error message:

    // Error: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2018/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 905: The specified procedure could not be found.
    (Mayatomr)

    Do you know anything that might help? I am using Maya 2018.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    Did you install the plugin to the default location, or did you adjust the install path?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I installed Mental Ray to the default location: C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\mentalray 3.14 for Maya 2018

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    There is not much which can fail. Often it's caused by a missing external library that the plugin depends upon.

    Given that you kept the original file/folder layout of the plugin installation, please make sure that the "libray.dll" is in the "bin" subfolder.

    You also need to have the Windows Visual C++ 2015 runtime installed. Check for "C:\windows\system32\msvcp140.dll".
    This should have been installed by Maya anyway, so Maya would not run if that was not available.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    They are both there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Also, I forgot to mention that there was another error line in the script editor:
    // Error: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2018/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 290: Unable to dynamically load

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    Can you please try to load the plugin manually, and then send the resulting messages of the Script Editor and the Console Window?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    In the Script Editor, the total response is this:
    // Error: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2018/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 290: Unable to dynamically load : C:/Program Files/NVIDIA Corporation/mentalray 3.14 for Maya 2018/plug-ins/Mayatomr.mll
    The specified procedure could not be found.
    //
    // Error: file: C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2018/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 290: The specified procedure could not be found.
    (Mayatomr) //
    However, nothing happens in the Console Window.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,147

    Default

    Can you please try the latest update of the plugin installer at 16656-Mental-Ray-for-Maya-2018-Version-1-2-1-Update ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I tried it, and it still gave me the same error

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •