Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Mental ray 2018 loading error

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MoldenGolden View Post
    I tried it, and it still gave me the same error
    To me it looks like the "module" file is corrupt, and the mental ray .dll is not found. Please check if the file exists at

    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\Modules\Maya\2018\mentalray.mod

    It is a regular text file. The first line in the file should look similar to this, and point to the plugin directory

    + LOCALE:en_US mayatomr 3.14.5.3 C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\mentalray 3.14 for Maya 2018

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    7

    Default

    The first line is what you said.
    However, the line after that is
    MENTALRAY_LOCATION:=. (nothing is after the equals.)
    Is that normal?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MoldenGolden View Post
    MENTALRAY_LOCATION:=. (nothing is after the equals.)
    That's correct. The first lines of the file should like like this (for English version, default install location):

    mentalray.mod file content.png

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I got the same error.

    i am using Mentalray 3.14.5.3 and maya 2018.2

    Any success on this??

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I found where my problem was/is.
    I have an Installation of Houdini and in the bin folder is a file called libRAY.dll.
    I just deleted this library file (temporary) and Maya was able to load mentalray.
    Does any one know how to solve this issue, without uninstallign Houdini?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonas.sorgenfrei View Post
    I found where my problem was/is.
    I have an Installation of Houdini and in the bin folder is a file called libRAY.dll.
    I just deleted this library file (temporary) and Maya was able to load mentalray.
    Does any one know how to solve this issue, without uninstallign Houdini?
    God! your advice about that libRAY.dll saved me.
    i finded a workaround to avoid do change .dll names(maya and houdini)
    in windows:
    System Properties/Advanced/Environment Variables, in "System variables" search for "Path" double click to into edit it then press "New" and add your mental ray path.
    restart windows and voila!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    1,133

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tangopolys View Post
    God! your advice about that libRAY.dll saved me.
    i finded a workaround to avoid do change .dll names(maya and houdini)
    in windows:
    System Properties/Advanced/Environment Variables, in "System variables" search for "Path" double click to into edit it then press "New" and add your mental ray path.
    restart windows and voila!
    This is a known issue with latest Houdini for Maya versions. They obviously deliver a similarly named libray.dll which conflicts with the one from Mental Ray. If you force the global PATH to find Mental Ray's library first then the MR plugin should load again, but Houdini might be broken instead. It sounds like Houdini adds its library PATH to the global search path rather than its local per-module PATH (which would not affect Mental Ray).
    Last edited by steve; November 28th, 2018 at 13:58.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •